Priesthood and a Box of Chocolate

“Life was like a box of chocolates. You will never know what you’re gonna get.”  This popular metaphor about life is also greatly true and applicable to the state of life called priesthood.

When i was ordained priest a year ago, all i wanted was to be a simple priest assigned in a simple community or parish. All I wanted was to bring people closer to God through the sacraments I administer. But God has other plans. And his plans are greater than my dreams; greater that what i wanted to be. Though I remained simple, the responsibilities bestowed upon me were far from being simple; far from what i wanted.

5804677-forrest-gump-box-of-chocolates-quote

You really don’t  know what life will throw at you at every turn. After my ordination to the priesthood, I was assigned as one of the Chaplains of De La Salle – College of Saint Benilde. Throughout my first year in the ministry i always find myself ministering to the students and professors. As a chaplain, I listen to their stories with varied natures and give advice that provide guidance. I also strive to share the Eucharistic Jesus to those entrusted to my pastoral care through the sacraments and sacramentals I perform. What happened to me was indeed far from what i wanted.

As I look back on my first year experience as a priest, I can definitely tell anyone with assertiveness that it is not easy to be priest. Being a priest is like putting oneself in the line of fire. It is life marred with frustrations and successes, stress and happiness, difficulties and opportunities. A priest must be ready to get hurt, but console. He must be ready to stand and be placed amidst controversies, but vindicated by God. Priesthood is not easy. It is not perfect. But for someone called to this life, no other life can be better. Indeed, priesthood is a box of chocolates. You will never know what you’re gonna get.

~ ni Mga Pagpapalalim sa mga Kaisipan at Karanasan ni Dikong Rael. sa Marso 14, 2017.

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

 
